top of page

Gearing Up


Ms. Keiser here, checking in and getting the blog ready. Starting tomorrow, my students, no wait, research associates will be keeping you updated on their projects and experience in the jungles of Costa Rica. As I go through the packing list for the 100th time (did I bring enough socks??), I reflect on some of my most memorable high school moments. Most of them involving science (of course!), the outdoors, and completing meaningful projects. I was lucky to attend a high school (the School of Environmental Studies) that gave us such opportunities which included field studies in places like Costa Rica, Belize, the Galapagos Islands, and South Africa. Ask any student from that school and they will agree that the field studies were one of their favorite learning moments. The positive impact that travel and research opportunities have on the learner is what motivated me to get this trip going. As a science teacher, I am a strong believer in getting students immersed into what science is all about: research! Unfortunately, research opportunities are rarely offered until a student is late into their bachelors or masters degree in college. I am so thankful that I can be a part of such a wonderful opportunity for high school science students. Learning science should be fun, engaging, hands on, and connect students to challenging problems. I have a strong feeling my students are going to get all of that and more when they are down in Costa Rica.

As my hero and fellow science teacher extraordinaire Ms. Frizzle once said "Take chances, make mistakes, and get messy!"

bottom of page